Update: Congratulations to Anissa Radford for receiving the University of Kentucky’s 2017 Outstanding Professional Advisor Award and to Lori Garkovich for receiving the Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award. 

Each year, the University of Kentucky Advising Network recognizes two advisors, one professional advisor and one faculty advisor, with the Ken Freedman Outstanding Advisor Award. 

The College of Agriculture, Food and Environment boasts 28 Freedman nominees this year, more than any other college or unit at the University. The college's nominees, listed below, will be recognized at the Ken Freedman Luncheon on February 23. 

The two awardees will receive a $500 travel grant from UK Student and Academic Support, a unit of the UK Division of Student and Academic Life. Awardees will also be nominated by the University for the NACADA Region 3 Excellence in Advising Award and for the National Academic Advising Association Outstanding Advisor Award.

Ken Freedman, the award's namesake, was one of the founders of the UK Advising Network in 1986 and served as a professional advisor at UK until his death in 2001.

Professional Nominees

Name Department/Unit
Jamie Dunn Center for Student Success
Esther Fleming Agricultural and Medical Biotechnology
Ann Leed Animal and Food Sciences
Avery Malone Retailing and Tourism Management
Anissa Radford Dietetics and Human Nutrition
Natasha Saunders Office of Diversity
Leann Slaughter Animal and Food Sciences
Kristen Wilson Equine Programs

Faculty Nominees

Name Department/Unit
Carmen Agouridis Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
Roger Brown Agricultural Economics
RayeCarol Cavender Retailing and Tourism Management
Lorraine Garkovich Community and Leadership Development
Ryan Hargrove Landscape Architecture
Tyler Mark Agricultural Economics
Leigh Maynard Agricultural Economics
Martin Nielsen Veterinary Science
Sharyn Perry Plant and Soil Sciences
Mika Pryor Retailing and Tourism Management
Mary Rossano Animal and Food Sciences
Jack Schieffer Agricultural Economics
Aaron Schwartz Dietetics and Human Nutrition
Will Snell Agricultural Economics
Tammy Stephenson Dietetics and Human Nutrition
Jason Swanson Retailing and Tourism Management
Kristine Urschel Animal and Food Sciences
Stacy Vincent Community and Leadership Development
Scarlett Wesley Retailing and Tourism Management
Mark Williams Horticulture

To learn more about the Ken Freedman Outstanding Advisor Award, including past winners, click here